Dresser Top Makeover

Dresser top makeover via youmademelikeyou.com

Since I hate clutter and I love throwing things out, I’m amazed that I let my dresser top become the disaster that it did and then just let it be for so long.  Honestly, “before” photos are not even worth putting up – it was terrible and the huge mess in my tiny bedroom made me angry at myself every night and every morning while I was trying to get ready.  I had to be ruthless.  In the end, I had a basket and and boot shoebox full of costume jewelry that I never wear and brand new products from Clinique and Lancôme and other bonuses that ended up going out on to the stoop.  I also had a HUGE bag full of garbage… seriously.  I have NO idea where all this stuff came from, all I did was go through the stuff on the dresser top and the first drawer down.  Since I don’t have a bedside table or a vanity table, I have to make sure this surface can multitask (literally my bedroom consists of a dresser and a bed) – so only the essentials were allowed.

I drop the jewelry that I wear every day into this awesome little dish I just got at the old gold souk in Dubai… although I’m pretty sure these things are made in Turkey. Another great idea for this is to use a vintage ashtray, I’ve seen them on many a bedside table and they look awesome.

Dresser top makeover via youmademelikeyou.com

Dresser top makeover via youmademelikeyou.com

I just got this awesome lacquer jewelry box from C.Wonder.  It’s beautifully lined on the inside and is big enough to hold the pieces I’m into these days, even the chunkier ones.

Dresser top makeover via youmademelikeyou.com

This coat hanger (I think?) is from Urban Outfitters a couple of years ago and just finally put it up.  I’m using it to display a few necklaces and rosaries… turns out I’m OBSESSED with rosaries and buy them all over the world – nothing religious or anything, I just think they’re beautiful.

Dresser top makeover via youmademelikeyou.com

Unfortunately, there is no space for this beautiful antique jewelry box that used to sit on the dresser top… it holds some great pieces but ESSENTIALS ONLY! I emptied out the very top drawer to keep other small jewelry boxes and accessories… and even though I took so much out of there, it’s still full.

Dresser top makeover via youmademelikeyou.com

Dresser top makeover via youmademelikeyou.com

More  dresser top inspiration (click to enlarge):


Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

