Beautiful Books

Beautiful book/cover art inspiration via youmademelikeyou.com

 

I’m sure you all agree that there is something so satisfying about a beautiful book, especially when you’re just in the mood to look at and hold an object that is at once, interesting, informative, visually engaging and just plain feels great to have in your hands. I’ve been noticing lately that every time I want to change up the feel and look of any space, the first thing I switch up are the books and of course, I always have a pile on my desk for inspiration.

 

Beautiful book/cover art inspiration via youmademelikeyou.com  copy

I’ve gotten obsessed with beautiful cover design lately. I love staring at beautiful covers lined up one after the other. I’m especially fond of designers Jason Booher, Coralie Bickford-Smith and Peter Mendelsund.

Beautiful book/cover art inspiration via youmademelikeyou.com

Beautiful book/cover art inspiration via youmademelikeyou.com

I found the grammar dictionary on a stoop a few years ago and was so excited but also confused as to how someone could be giving away such an amazing book. The other two books are a take-away from an interactive installation at MoMA PS1 a few years ago and they each contain an insert from the artist.

In case you were wondering, I do love the convenience of a kindle or ipad. There are tons of big, fat books I probably wouldn’t have gotten through had it not been for these amazing devices since I do most of my reading on the subway. I used to feel like I was cheating on books but now I just know what publications I can download and which ones I have to actually feel in my hands.

 

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Beautiful Books

Leave a Reply

