Space Jam at Marlborough Chelsea

Devin Troy Strother: Space Jam at  Marlborough Chelsea, New York via youmademelikeyou.com

Devin Troy Strother: Space Jam at  Marlborough Chelsea, New York via youmademelikeyou.com

Devin Troy Strother: Space Jam at  Marlborough Chelsea, New York via youmademelikeyou.com

Devin Troy Strother: Space Jam at  Marlborough Chelsea, New York via youmademelikeyou.com

Devin Troy Strother: Space Jam at  Marlborough Chelsea, New York via youmademelikeyou.com

Devin Troy Strother: Space Jam at  Marlborough Chelsea, New York via youmademelikeyou.com

I FINALLY made it out to see “Space Jam”, artist Devin Troy Strother’s second solo exhibition at Marlborough Chelsea and it was everything I thought it would be, and more. Before you start to wonder, the title of the show does, in fact, reference the 1996 movie starring Michael Jordan and all of your favorite cartoon characters. Strother looks at the title conceptually, as a feeling of his youth, and literally – by thinking of “space” as the challenge he faced to fill all three rooms of the gallery, and “jam” as the feeling of rushing and moving forward very quickly. The works reference art history and, of course, pop culture – he definitely looks at basketball more as an aesthetic and less as an actual sport.

I’m sad to say, however, that the exhibition is only up for TWO more days!! I know, I know, I’m sorry but it took me long enough to get down there and I’m sad to have only gone once. I seem to have a weakness for art that is actually fun and of course, globs of colorful paint… so… basically “Space Jam” is my jam. Am I a cheeseball? Sure, but you can’t fight true love.

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Space Jam at Marlborough Chelsea

Leave a Reply

