LARUSMIANI MILANO

Larusmiani Milano bucket bag via youmademelikeyou.com

Larusmiani Milano bucket bag via youmademelikeyou.com

Larusmiani Milano bucket bag via youmademelikeyou.com

OOTD in Milan Italy via youmademelikeyou.com

Larusmiani Milano bucket bag via youmademelikeyou.com

I’m sure you all know by now that I love making new sartorial discoveries whenever I travel and I do a pretty good job, considering I live here in New York where almost everything seems to be available. There was Nanushka in Budapest, Witchery in South Africa, Cappio in Argentina… just to name a few. Who would have thought, however, that I would hit the jackpot wandering down Via MonteNapoleone in Milan.  I was there because I love going into boutiques in the countries where the designers are based as there are usually exclusives featured in these stores that aren’t available in other countries. I tried all the big Italian designers including Gucci, Salvatore Ferragamo, Prada etc. but wasn’t really into it. Across the street from Prada was Larusmiani with their incredible 70’s style boho dresses in the window … how could I resist going in?

The bucket bag I got was the last one and because it was on sale, I couldn’t pass it up. I learned that Larusmiani has been around since 1922 with the boutique I went to, first opening its doors in 1954. Apparently, they still do things the old-fashioned way – everything made by hand and everything done in Italy. They started as a tailoring business and the first women’s collection was only launched in 2012! Men’s suits are available at Bergdorf Goodman here in New York and I suspect women’s won’t be far behind. Seriously though, their history is awesome, they used to make suits for Charlie Chaplin and were the first company to import vicuña into Italy. Read more HERE.

Anyway, I’m pretty obsessed and hope they bring their women’s line to the US or, I guess I’ll just have to go back to Milan. Also, yes, that is me doing a happy dance the first time I wore my bag.

Shop other amazing bucket bags:

3.1 Phillip Lim Quill / Madewell Bucket Bag / Steve Madden BGemma  / Michael Kors Miranda 

 

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

